Healthy Buckeye Recipe

Healthy and Tasty Buckeyes

Last week, I posted my Healthy Peanut Butter Balls recipe.  I keep a ready supply of these protein packed morsels in my fridge as I have been craving peanut butter a lot lately.  But more than just plain peanut butter, I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate.  So when my turn came up to make treats for Care Group last Monday, I pulled out a recipe I have made in a long time. Buckeyes.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Buckeyes

What surprised me, though, was how sickeningly sweet they were to me. Loaded with butter and powdered sugar, I was well aware of how unhealthy they were.  It occurred to me how delightful it would be to take my Healthy Peanut Butter Balls recipe and simply dip them in the chocolate. I was a little nervous about how it would turn out, and my husband (who loves my peanut butter balls) stated that if I made a healthy buckeye recipe, I was going to have a lot of angry football husbands on my hands.

Not deterred, I set about making my healthy peanut butter balls, then dipped them in the chocolate. After chilling them sufficiently, Stephen and I took our first bites. His eyes lit up. “These are better than the original buckeyes!!” He exclaimed emphatically.

Score!

Here is my Healthy Buckeye Recipe for you to (hopefully!) enjoy as much as we did!

Healthy and Tasty Buckeyes

1/3 cup raw honey

1 1/4 cup natural peanut butter (crunchy or smooth)

1/3 cup ground flax

1 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1 cup Go Lean Crunch granola (I used Honey Almond Flax variety)

1/4 cup oatmeal

Roll into balls, refrigerate in sealed container for an hour.

Melt 6 oz bittersweet chocolate and 1 Tbs coconut oil. Use toothpick to dip in chocolate, refrigerate and enjoy!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by KayleeAnn on September 26, 2011 at 1:36 am

    Buckeyes were my very favorite kind of cookie – my mom used to make a GIANT batch of them every year at Christmas and I would eat about half of them (pretty gross to me now). Needless to say I was excited to see your healthy adaptation of the recipe and I jumped right in and made some tonight. They are fantastic! I rolled them in coco powder instead of dipping them in melted chocolate chips though. Not exactly like like a buckeye, but delicious and decadent all the same. Thank you for sharing!

    Plan on blogging about my adaptation – mind if I link?
    ::Thanks::
    KayleeAnn

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nana on September 27, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Going to try these sometime. They do look good!

    Proud of you :-)

    Reply

  3. [...] was surfing the blog-o-sphere (that is a thing, right?) and I came across a healthy buckeye recipe Here.  Growing up I loved Buckeyes, they were my very favorite kind of cookie – my mom used to make a [...]

    Reply

  4. [...] peanut butter chocolate dessert residents of Ohio love most. Try a spin on the classic with these Healthy Buckeyes. And since Ohio’s state fruit is the tomato, whip up a Bloody Mary to kick things off in [...]

    Reply

  5. [...] peanut butter chocolate dessert residents of Ohio love most. Try a spin on the classic with these Healthy Buckeyes. And since Ohio’s state fruit is the tomato, whip up a Bloody Mary to kick things off in [...]

    Reply

  6. [...] m&#959&#1109t. Try a spin &#959n th&#1077 classical w&#1110th th&#1077&#1109&#1077 Healthful Buckeyes. An&#1281 &#1109&#1110n&#1089&#1077 Ohio’s commotion fruit &#1110&#1109 th&#1077 tomato, whip [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

