GAPS Homemade Chocolate Chips (Grain-free, sugar-free, dairy-free)

If you’re anything like me, you simply have to find a health alternative to all things chocolate.  Since cocoa powder is allowed in the GAPS diet once digestive issues have been righted, I knew I had to come up with a source of chocolate that was sweetened with only honey.

The result was mouthwatering chocolate bliss.

Simple Homemade Chocolate Chips

2/3 cup organic virgin coconut oil

2/3 cup raw cocoa powder

2 tsp raw honey

Melt coconut oil over low heat on stovetop. Remove from heat. Add in cocoa powder and honey. Mix to incorporate.

Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.  Pour chocolate mixture evenly over paper. Place in freezer for 15 minutes.

Remove from freezer and place hardened chocolate onto cutting board. Using a large cleaver, chop chocolate in rows one direction, and then the other, forming chocolate chunks (whatever size you prefer).

Voila! A healthy alternative to a delightful treat! Keep in freezer until just before use, as they begin to melt quickly at room temperature.

Note: These melt when baked into cookies, so just be aware they sort of ooze out of the bottom of your cookies a little–but not too bad!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle Hpperten on September 14, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Is there another kind of oil I can use? I cannot eat coconut?

    Reply

  2. I love this! It’s been so helpful to be able to make chocolate chips with ingredients I always have in my kitchen. They do seep out the bottom a bit, but I’m going to try to tweak some cookie recipes to get it perfect. I wrote about my first experiment with these chocolate chips on my blog, with a link back to your page obviously, here: http://texaninnorwich.wordpress.com/2012/10/14/mintchococookies/

    Reply

  3. I made it tonight with a little more than half stick of butter, and about 2-3 tablespoons of coconut oil with about 1/3rd cup cocoa powder ,3 tablespoons honey..and added extra sea salt. It was VERY good, and I am now thinking of adding crushed up almonds! It tasted like a sea salt chocolate bar.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers

