June 2

Day 17

I am sitting on the back steps of a Mennonite home in a tiny village somewhere in France.  The sun is shining, the birds are singing.  I hear the sound of running water from a little waterfall nearby.  The fresh, clean laundry is swinging in the breeze.  All is well.  I can’t imagine a more perfect place. 

As Mennonites (a close family to the Amish), our host family lives on a farm and has 7 children, three of which live in adjoining houses on the farm.  They all have large gardens and eat their own produce.  Their lives are slow, peaceful, contemplative.  It’s all very interesting considering our recent study of the Anabaptist movement.  I have a sense of who these separate people are and why they do what they do.

I have finally come down with a cold, though, and hope to be able to sing tonight.  Today is our “day or rest.”  We don’t have to be anywhere until noon for lunch.  I slept ’til 9:30 and then ate a delicious breakfast on the sun porch.  My heart longs for this way of life–it always has. That is why I’ve always been so fascinated by the Amish.  Why can’t families stay and work together like this anymore? Why can’t we grow our own food and dry our laundry in the breeze and wake up and pick and peel asparagus as Jacqueline did this morning? 

Our hosts speak very little English, but they speak French, and it’s surprising how much I understand, but frustrating how little I can formulate my own sentences.

One response to this post.

  1. This was by far my favorite place to be! It was amazing! Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing, simple, and so much more, but I especially loved the people!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

