Day of Deliverance

“I sought the Lord and He answered me, and delivered me from all my fears.   Those who look to Him for help will be radiant with joy. No shadow of shame will darken their faces.”

Psalm 34:3 (NLT and NASB)

Seven years ago today, the Lord demonstrated His faithfulness to me by delivering me from bondage to fear and sin.  It is a day that I have chosen to remember annually. Although the memory of the sin is not pleasant, recalling the Lord’s goodness to me during that time is incredible and humbling.

Throughout the Old Testament we continuously see the Lord teaching the Israelites to set up reminders of His faithfulness so that they would not forget all that He had brought them through.  The Passover was a yearly commemoration of the Lord’s deliverance out of Egypt.  In Exodus 13, God says “You shall tell your son on that day, saying ‘It is because of what the Lord did for me when I came out of Egypt” and again in verse 14 “and it shall be when your son asks you in time to come, saying ‘What is this?’ then you shall say to him, ‘With a powerful hand the LORD brought us out of Egypt, from the house of slavery.’”

When the Israelites crossed over the Jordan river safely, the Lord told them to grab twelve stones to set up a memorial.  “When your children ask their fathers in time to come, saying, ‘What are these stones?’ then you shall inform your children, saying, ‘Israel crossed this Jordan on dry ground’…that all the peoples of the earth may know that the hand of the LORD is mighty, so that you may fear the LORD your God forever.” Joshua 4:21-24

But the Israelites of old were not the only ones to be delivered from bondage.  They were not the only ones to witness God’s faithfulness through the generation.  Because of God’s Son, Jesus, we continue to behold God’s goodness in the land of the living.  And I believe it is important to commemorate significant times in our lives when God has brought us through and shown us His faithfulness in a special way.

Perhaps celebrations such as Passover, Thanksgiving, and even Christmas have lost their meaning to us. It is so easy for traditions to simply become “what we do” without giving much thought to why we do them.  It is for this reason that we are to bring our attention back to the reason behind traditions and celebrate God for His unfailing goodness in our lives.

I haven’t brought literal stones in my home and set up a memorial.  We don’t eat unleavened bread on October 1.  I’m still praying about some sort of symbol to remind us of God’s faithfulness on this day (ideas, anyone? Maybe I could cross-stitch something…). But we do remember the Lord’s goodness with prayer and thanksgiving.  On October 1, we celebrate the Lord’s deliverance in my life in a specific way.  But we not only look back on what he did in 2001, we look forward to what He will do as we continue to walk with Him.

Isaiah 58:12 “Your people will rebuild the ancient ruins and will raise up the age-old foundations; you will be called Repairer of Broken Walls, Restorer of Streets with Dwellings.”

Great is Thy faithfulness, oh God my Father!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Sister, I think you should make it a family holiday, and use it teach your children someday about the power of God. You could kind of change your traditions a little bit as your kids get older, but there’s all kinds of cool stuff you could do. You could even find some recipes that have some kind of symbolism (this would definitely take some work…like I mean Monkey Bread gets delivered from the collective deliciousness glob by glob) and you could go on a nice Fall walk to look for signs of Fall (since it’s October 1) and talk about how God is powerful.

    There’s all kinds of cool stuff!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on October 2, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Hey, I’ve tried fixing Monkey Bread before, “delivered from collective deliciousness” (a Mom-altered recipe), and it didn’t go over that well. (You guys could definitely tell!) But I bet you’ll think of something 🙂

    But regarding your D-Day, I am so excited to see God’s continued Deliverance, and growth. He doesn’t just deliver once, and then leave you on your own for what’s next. It’s a continuous process–and definitely one worth celebrating and commemorating!

    I love you!

    Reply

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

