Mama Prays

I’ve often asked my parents what made them such great parents, because seriously, they are the best.  I want to be able to love and teach my children as well as they did/do.  They aren’t perfect, of course, but they are pretty close.  And the one thing Mama always says when I ask her what they did that made them so awesome is “We prayed for you guys. A lot!”  And they did.  Chris Rice has a song that, I think, says it best. Here’s to my amazing parents! (sorry about the formatting. WordPress is dumb sometimes)

Mama Prays

My memories of my brothers (and sister) and me

Make me marvel at the way the years went by

Here we are, how’d we ever get this far

I wonder how, and I wonder why

Then I recall what these [kids] often saw

When we would stop to look in Mom and Daddy’s door

They’d bow their heads while they knelt beside their bed

And we could hear them life our names before the Lord

Mama prayed, and Jesus stood beside us

Daddy prayed and the devil had to run

God looked down, and His angels guarded through the harder days

‘Cause Mama prayed and Daddy prayed

Now the boys are grown raising boys of their own (okay so there aren’t any of those yet)

In a world a little darker than before

But the prayers go on every night and every dawn

‘Cause they still bow and lift our names before the Lord

Mama prays and Jesus stands beside us

Daddy prays and the devil has to run

God looks down, and His angels guard us through the harder days

‘Cause Mama prays and Daddy prays

I love you!

2 responses to this post.

  1. You do have incredible parents!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on November 3, 2008 at 3:08 am

    Prayer is such an amazing privilege! Thanks for writing this. I heard that song a while back and really liked it.

    Well, we’ll just keep praying. And God does the rest…
    Love you both

    Reply

Leave a Reply

