“Spring” Cleaning

I love spring cleaning. I look forward to it all year long, actually. Sometimes, when it’s the dead of winter, I ask myself why I have to wait for spring to be sprung to actually get down to the nitty gritty of cleaning.

Right now is one of those times. It may be freezing out, but the sun is shining, and I’m really sick of lying on the couch, even though I can hardly muster the courage to do much else. But after days of lounging and looking at the dust collecting on my coffee table, I can’t handle it anymore. Something must be done.

While I can’t get Bleak House on mp3 to listen to while I begin my cleaning frenzy (due to an annoying 40 cent fine that I don’t have time to go pay), I have loaded up a playlist of Odysseys and Focus on the Family broadcasts about adoption to keep me thinking about cleaning instead of how sick I feel.

There’s something so freeing about cleaning. I’ve already taken my nifty new cleaning tool, a plastic brush-like thing they call a Rubba Scrubba (I know, I feel dumb just saying it) and scrubbed at all the baseboards and hard-to-reach carpet spots in my living room. I’ve begun dusting and organizing and everything sparkles in the sunlight. I’m convinced this must have a positive affect on my health, even if I do slip into coughing fits every couple of minutes.

The inch of dust on my coffee table is beckoning. Here’s to a wonderfully clean house! (and then I’ll rest…)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on February 24, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Good Job daughter. I love clean as well. Dad

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on March 1, 2009 at 3:20 am

    You didn’t get this gene from me…. Well, maybe a little. But it seems like I never have TIME to clean any more. Good thing Kim comes and helps me every 2 weeks, or who know what the place would look like?!

    Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

