Needed: One Temporary Barista

Stephen returned from Spring Break with something akin to Influenza, and I have been trying to nurse him back to health as quickly as possible, not only for his sake, but for mine.

I have had to learn how to make my morning coffee by myself.  It’s been two days now, and so far both days have failed.  Yesterday was no fault of my own.  We had no creamer–and I didn’t realize this until after I had brewed the pot.  And I can NOT drink coffee without creamer.  But I brewed a pot of coffee successfully, so that’s something, right?

This morning I screwed the lid on to just where Stephen told me and pushed “on.”  I went into the living room to do my physical therapy and within minutes heard the coffee pot making its thunder-like sounds.  But it sounded odd.  Meh, I probably just don’t know what coffee brewing sounds like, I thought to myself.

But then I heard it. Drip, drip, drip.  And this dripping was not the sound of dripping into the coffee pot.  I ran into the kitchen.  My fears were confirmed.  Something had obviously gone wrong with the lid because there was coffee nearly pouring out of the coffee pot, onto the counter, and down onto the floor behind the counter.

I grabbed a handful of paper towels and began mopping it up.  But having no idea how coffee makers work, I didn’t know how to stop the source of the flow, so it just kept coming.  I yanked the pot off, fixed the lid, wiped up the waterfall that had accumulated, and placed the pot back under the thingey (see, I don’t even know what it is called).  A steady and healthy sounding dripping resumed. I breathed a sigh of relief and continued to wipe up the mess.

But then I wanted some coffee, so I poured some (quickly pulling it out of the stream) put the lid back on, and put it back.  Within seconds, the counter was refilling with coffee.  I obviously don’t know how to put a lid on.

A few hundred paper towels later, I unplugged the thing, opened it up, and let the rest of it drip into the trash can for lack of any better option.  Frustrated that so much of my morning had been consumed already by cleaning and re-cleaning up spilled coffee, I left the rest to worry about later.

I want Stephen back.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Oh sister…this is very bad. Very bad indeed.

    Maybe you should just move your coffee maker to your sink until Stephen gets better. At least next time it blows up it can go down the drain.

    I don’t know how to make coffee either.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on March 25, 2009 at 12:40 am

    This sounds like a continuation of our Saturday saga….

    So what was your blessing in response to this trial? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Crystal Vorgert on March 26, 2009 at 2:57 am

    we had a similar experience although not quite as bad in my family´s house the other night. Don´t worry i am not so great at the coffee thing either! Hope Stephen gets better soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

