Baby Belly Bumping

I have been bumping into things with my belly lately.  When people used to talk about this phenomenon, I used to wonder how it could be possible.  It seemed to me that one’s brain would compensate for widening of the features.

However, this is simply not the case.  For whatever reason, your brain and your body don’t connect on this point.  And so, I have been squishing between the car door and the garage wall, bumping into closet doors, and running into Stephen when walking past him. I don’t mind, though.  I’m just glad this little guy is growing!

It is also growing excessively difficult to get off the couch, get out of bed, pick things up off the floor, or put on socks.  Last night, Stephen and I went for a walk, and it was quite crisp out, so I wanted to put shoes and socks on before we headed out.  I got one on, then called Stephen over.

“Stephen, observe how difficult it is to put on this sock” I commanded.  He leaned against the door frame and watched, laughing, as I sat on the bed, pulled my foot up, and struggled to reach over my tummy to pull the sock on.

“The huffing and puffing is my favorite part,” he chortled. I explained that that was completely involuntary and had to do with my esophogus and such being nearly crushed as I attempted to pull on my socks. I’m not sure he believed me:-)

Protrusion of the belly at almost 25 weeks.  I know, it'll only get bigger:-)

Protrusion of the belly at almost 25 weeks. I know, it'll only get bigger:-)

2 responses to this post.

  1. You and baby are beautiful!

    Soon you will have spots on the fronts of all your tops 😉 –at least if you’re anything like your Mama!

    Reply

  2. Ashley- you are so cute! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

