Showers of Blessing

I’ve been looking forward to my baby showers since, well, before this Little Guy was even in existence! But the anticipation has been building the closer we get to a due date (I’m now in my 3rd trimester!), and my first shower was scheduled for this weekend in the Quad Cities. Stephen’s family and some church friends were throwing the shower for us, and I have all sorts of creative and talented sisters-in-law who had way too much fun whipping up a lovely baby shower. Really, it about blew my socks off!

I was especially excited about this shower, since I felt that much of the attention would be diverted from me to the baby. I hate being the center of attention, but I figured with a baby shower, even the gifts I’m opening are more about the baby than me, so I can enjoy it without so much pressure!

But then I walked into the room full of women (some I knew well, some I didn’t know at all!), and I about panicked as all eyes turned to me and then dropped to examine my rounding belly. Oh shoot! I thought. I forgot that everyone will be so curious to see me “showing” and will want to pat my belly and croon over either how big I am getting or how tiny I am still (I get both on a regular basis, and it really is quite humorous that the opinions are so inconsistent).

So I swallowed hard and went around the room saying hi to everyone, because I may feel totally awkward, but they don’t.  They’re there to celebrate!  After a delicious brunch, we tore into the gifts–and there were mounds of them! I am totally overwhelmed and blessed by the wonderful gifts we received from so many people who love us and are praying for this Little Blessing.  God has truly been good to us, and we pray that we may continue to praise his name for it!

The shower theme was A. A. Milne's classic Pooh--my favorite!

The shower theme was A. A. Milne's classic Pooh--my favorite!

DeAnna made 84 chocolate and pumpkin cupcakes and wrote on them "I'm so rumbly in my tumbly"--Classic Pooh!

DeAnna made 84 chocolate and pumpkin cupcakes and wrote on them "I'm so rumbly in my tumbly"--Classic Pooh!

Pretty much the cutest outfit ever!

Pretty much the cutest outfit ever!

So cute

So cute

Mom W put the bows all over me

Mom W put the bows all over me

Someone asked if the bows represented one for each child.  This one is the BIG one!

Someone asked if the bows represented one for each child. This one is the BIG one!

With Mama and friend, Peggy

With Mama and friend, Peggy

So excited for the bump!

So excited for the bump!

Cute and adorable Mom/Grandma!

Cute and adorable Mom/Grandma!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on October 15, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    It was such a fun day indeed. God has truly blessed you, and us too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

