A Window Into My Psyche

The exhaustion factor of pregnancy has finally hit me. This could have more to do with the fact that we have had loads of company staying with us off and on for the last three weeks, but I’m sure being pregnant doesn’t help energy levels there!

I don’t help myself at all either. If I were a car, I think I would have two gears: drive and overdrive. There isn’t a switch for “slow” or “stop,” but I am seriously considering seeing a mechanic to have one put in. Everyone tells me to take a break, slow down, relax, but that’s easier said than done, especially if you lived in my mind. Allow me to give you a window into this frenzied psyche by giving a typical example of a typical morning.

I sleep restlessly, waking up to go to the bathroom 5-7 times, and each time running through a mental checklist of what I need to do the following day. Sometimes it helps to simply keep a notepad by my bed to write these things down so I can let them go until morning.

When I wake up, I head to the kitchen, start a pot of coffee, and think about doing my physical therapy. But first Friedrich must be awakened. However, it’s freezing in the house (we like it cool when we sleep), so I turn the heat on for 5 minutes to get it back up to 70* before I uncover the bird.

While I wait for the house to warm up, I go back over to the kitchen to unload the dishwasher and realize the coffee pot has turned itself off without finishing, a bad habit it has gotten into. I press “start” again, and continue to unload the dishwasher. As I am putting the bowls away, I think breakfast might be a good idea after I am done with the dishwasher.  While unloading the dishwasher, though, it would be nice to have some music playing, so I turn on the computer. While I am at the desk, I see my list of things to do and begin prioritizing them. I see a couple of phone calls I could make and do so while I wait for the computer to boot up and finish unloading the dishwasher. I restart the coffee pot again.

Oh, yes, Friedrich. I uncover him and change his food and water. While I am refiling his water, I realize I am incredibly thirsty, so I fill up my water bottle. That leaves the water pitcher near empty, so I decide to refill it. However, because the dishwasher was full, there are dishes in the sink that need to be put in the now empty dishwasher so I can fit the water pitcher into the sink. I restart the coffee pot.

Leaving the pitcher on the counter, I rinse the dishes, put them in the dishwasher, and remember breakfast.  However, I still haven’t done my therapy, and my back is clicking in and out of place, and my feet are beginning to ache. Breakfast will be a nice break…after I finish my therapy.  I slowly and carefully lower my weighty body onto the floor and do my exercises, remembering that I need to check my email so I can place that Mary Kay order. Oh, and there are clean clothes in the dryer that need to be folded and another load that needs to be started. I should throw the kitchen rags in with that load.

As I head to the kitchen to get said rags, I see a Kleenex on the end table and throw it away. But the trash is full, so I take it out. While I am taking the trash out, I realize we are nearly out of bags and reach for my shopping list to add them. That’s when I remember I still haven’t eaten anything yet. As I turn to grab a bowl from the cupboard, clicking the coffee on again, I notice the water pitcher on the counter. That’s right, I haven’t refilled it yet, due to the dishes in the sink. I refill the pitcher and put it back into the fridge, moving the thawing steaks as I do so. I should get those marinating so they’ll be delicious for tonight.

I set about marinating the steaks, and now there are more dishes to be done, and the counters need wiping down.  My legs are about to give way, and I think sitting for a minute would be ideal.  The coffee is finally done, and I should check my email.  An email from Wal-Mart says our crib is in! Reprioritize list, adding “pick up crib and mattress” to the top…Now that means we need to build it at some point, and I have a ton of baby clothes in various piles on the floor that someone gave us.  Add that to list.  Oh, the laundry!

As I am unloading and reloading the laundry, I am suddenly hit with a wave of low blood sugar and realize it’s 11:30 and I haven’t eaten anything yet.  I run to the kitchen to pour myself some cereal, but it’s too late.  Ironically, after being sick I feel much better and sit on the couch to eat some dry Cheerios, hoping to slowly boost my blood sugar back to a decent level before returning to my frenzy.

And that’s what I’m doing right now as I write this post.  Finally. After detailing what goes on in my mind and why I forget to eat and can’t seem to stop (there’s always something more to be done!), I see disturbing similarities between myself and the children’s book “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie.” The basic premise is of that story is “If you give a mouse a cookie, he will want a glass of milk to go with it, and when you get him the milk, it will remind him of this, but then he’ll think of that, and do this, and remember that, etc. etc. until both he and the little boy collapse in exhaustion.” Maybe I should write a spin-off series.  Wait, that’s one more thing to add to my list…:-)

2 responses to this post.

  1. I totally thought of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie while I was reading your post, before you even mentioned it. Eat, girl!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on November 18, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    No one could ever accuse you of laziness 🙂

    I agree–eat girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

