Hurry Up and Wait

I had surgery on my ankle when I was in high school, and a phrase that the nurse used has always stuck with me. While I was there at 6:30 am scheduled for a 7:30 surgery, they rushed around hooking up the IV and getting stats and all those details, and then we were ready…45 minutes before surgery. The nurse called it the “hurry up and wait” factor. Better to be ahead than behind!

That phrase keeps going through my mind as we draw closer and closer to the due date. With so much going on so close to his expected arrival (Thanksgiving, birthdays, Christmas, New Year’s!), I have been working speedily to get all the loose ends tied up so we could be as ready as possible.

Last week, I finally crossed the last of the “I HAVE TO GET THIS DONE BEFORE THE BABY COMES!” items off my list. The nursery is completely done except we are still waiting for the glider to come in. I sat down on the couch some time last week and felt…very strange. There was nothing hanging over my head. I felt peaceful.

So then, of course, I started panicking. Without something pushing me, I’m not quite sure what to do with myself. But I have quite a few “fun” projects I want to work on before the baby arrives, so I am pouring myself into those…and allowing myself to lie down on the couch and nap or sleep in whenever I feel like it:-) After all…any day now, just napping any time I want to won’t be an option anymore!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on December 9, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    That’s for sure! We’re waiting expectantly with you too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

