Yes, I am 9 Months Pregnant

Saturday I hit the official 9 month mark. People often misunderstand the numbers in pregnancy and think 9 months=due date! Unfortunately, 40 weeks is 9 full months–you have to live through the last four weeks of the ninth month before the Little Bundle makes his or her appearance. (I’m just grateful I’m not an elephant. Apparently, they are pregnant for two years!).

Thankffully, I am not sensitive about these things, so I found Stephen’s latest two comments regarding my size as quite humorous. The first was that I look like a snake that swallowed a HUGE rat (where he came up with that mental image, though, is rather disconcerting). The second comment was when I was wearing a red sweater and white long johns, waiting for him to pull my socks on, and he laughed as he looked at me and said, “You look like Santa with your skinny little legs and your big fat belly.” We both had a good laugh.

However, there comes a point where a person just doesn’t want to hear it anymore.  Comments about my size have ranged from “huge” to “massive” lately, and I must admit, I am weary of hearing it. I am well aware that I feel ginormous, but having everyone confirm it is not helpful. Stephen is convinced I cannot possibly grow any bigger, but every day proves him wrong as my waist continues to expand.  I don’t see how this guy can even move in there any more.  He seems quite cramped.

So, for all of you who have not had the “pleasure” of seeing me in person lately, here’s the latest photo of the tummy growth.  Enjoy.

36 Weeks, 3 Days

2 responses to this post.

  1. Lookin’ good! The word “massive” has NEVER crossed my mind when I see you.
    I do have to say (because this is one of my pet peeves) that 36 weeks pregnant is not really the same as 9 months pregnant. The week count technically starts 2 weeks before baby was conceived, about 3 weeks before baby implanted and therefore made you pregnant, and 4 weeks before you can find out you’re pregnant. The month count generally starts when you get a positive test (and a month doesn’t necessarily equal 4 weeks; some months have 5).
    Alright, stepping off my soapbox now! You’re still welcome to feel like you’ve been pregnant forever! 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on December 9, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Lookin’ beautiful to me! You’re all baby anyway, so your bigness is mostly cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

