Jeshuah Paul Willcox

Yes, it’s an unusual name, but it’s his! I stumbled across it in the Old Testament some years ago and was struck by every reference to the man thrown into lineages and mentioned in passing. He was a faithful high priest, he raised many children. And his name means “Yahweh is deliverer” or “The Lord Saves.” It is actually almost the same Hebrew name as Joshua and Jesus, simply a different spelling, and I love the meaning of that name. Early in my pregnancy, I knew that this little man was to be our Jeshuah, and that he was to point people to the Lord that saves–the Lord Jesus Christ whose birth we remember so very close to his own birth!

Paul means “small, humble.” I must admit I was hoping for a Bundle that proved just a wee bit smaller than 8 lbs, but I’ll take 8 lbs!! He is named for three men–The Apostle Paul (instrumental in our sanctification), our dear friend Paul Cheshier (we love this man and his family!), and the missionary/preacher Paul Washer (with whom we credit “saving our marriage” and ministry:).

Stephen and I had agreed on the name a long time ago, but recently, how we would spell it became a controversy. We still hadn’t figured it out yet when I went into labor, and in the middle of my agonies, Stephen said I was doing so great, and I could have the “h” at the end of Jeshuah! I remembered that, let me tell you!! 🙂

And so here we have our little Jeshuah Paul. Can hardly wait to see what the Lord has planned for him!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sam on December 24, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    I like the ‘h’ at the end. Just saying. Glad you Stephen gave in to your wish:)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Paul Cheshier on February 5, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    I have not taken the time to tell you what an honor it is to be mentioned as one of the ones for whom you would name your first child. Amid all the everything going on in the chaotic world – in our chaotic lives – in my especially chaotic mind…what an honor.

    Thank you for the reminder of the joy that a new life brings – that everything stops and in that moment you breathe in and out of that one thing that is and will remain important: your child, a reward, a heritage, a gift and a living, breathing evidence of the wonder and awe of life and the goodness of God.

    May you know Him more fully as a result.

    Solemente tu hermano,

    jpc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

