Cloth Diapering: Trial and Error

A few months ago, I posted some of my research on cloth diapers for your entertainment.  Well, now that our Little One is here in the flesh, we have been trying them all out and seeing just how well they work.  I feel like we’re kind of doing trial and error here, but we’re learning a lot.  I have had many friends who were interested in my findings, so I thought a post about my experience might come in handy.

I wanted to go for the most economical diaper route possible, so I invested chiefly in prefolds.  At just under $2 a diaper, you can’t go wrong, right?  They do require a cover, but I was told I’d only need 3-4, since they usually don’t get soiled and can be reused multiple times before they need washing.  Unfortunately, Jeshuah soiled four covers in one day, because he kept leaking over the prefold.  I love Thirsties duowrap covers because of their flexibility in size and the way they fit around his thighs.  Only once has he needed his onesie changed due to leaking. I thought I might need to invest in a few more covers, but when I checked the price, I balked. They are $11 a piece!  By the time you put the $2 prefold in there, if he needs a new cover every time, I’m spending $13 a diaper.

At that price, I might as well buy the incredibly wonderful and convenient all-in-ones.  I bought both Thirsties all-in-ones and BumGenius’. After trying both (Each $16/piece), I am torn between which I like better.  I love the BumGenius because it is so soft and fits him very well.  The Thirsties is not quite as soft, and the top of it seems to keep folding down and irritating his soft skin.  However, it has that wonderful duowrap feature at his thighs again that keeps anything from sneaking out.  The only downfall of the all-in-ones is their lengthy dry time.  Even with the 20 minutes in the dryer, it still takes them at least 24 hours to dry, and that’s when I turn them inside out.  (Not drying in the dryer extends their lifespans).

My biggest disappointment has been with BumGenius EconoBum product.  They’re supposed to be “one-size fits all” prefolds and covers, but they are so bulky on a newborn (and Jeshuah isn’t even a small newborn!), I couldn’t even get him close enough to nurse!  The covers are also ridiculous, with so many snaps and extra fabric it hangs all over the place.  And when we got it to finally fit snuggly around his thigh, it was too tight on his poor tummy.  I will be putting a call into the manfactorer and see what they can do for me.

Those were going to be my Medium size diapers.  Now I have to decide if I am going to buy the next size up in prefolds and covers, or if I should simply buy the medium all-in-ones and be done with it.

My greatest satisfaction is in the cloth wipes and wipe warmer I purchased.  I purchased two kinds of wipes: Kissaluvs terry and Comfy Bummy wipes.  The terry wipes are fantastic for cleaning up messy diapers.  In Jeshuah’s blowout this morning, one wipe cleaned him completely!  The other wipes are a lighter weight, and I typically use those if it’s just a wet diaper.  I keep them moist in Prince Lionheart’s Warmies Wipes Warmer.  This is incredibly convenient and useful!  However, the bamboo wipes that come with it, while some of the softest I’ve ever felt, shredded the first time I put them in the wash! Not impressed.

Overall, I am seriously enjoying cloth diapering.  I’m in the swing of things, and the routine is really quite easy.  Every time I look at my drying rack full of diapers, my heart thrills at how much money I saved and how many fewer diapers are in a landfill.  In the next couple of days, I intend to calculate exactly how much extra time it takes to cloth diaper.  I am guessing an extra 10 minutes a day. If that.

I will also post details of how I tend to the dirty diapers and all those great details:-)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle Farrell on January 8, 2010 at 1:34 am

    The washing/cleaning up of the diapers has me curious! Stinky!!!!! I hope you invested in a good quality washer/dryer ’cause they’ll get a work out!

    Reply

  2. as a husband who had changed Jeshuah’s cloth diapers a number of times I can tell you they are easy to put on, take off, and clean. It really is worth it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

