“Fear of Man”

I have had so many thoughts flying through my head in the last weeks, I haven’t even known where to start in jotting them down.  One of the overwhelming realizations, though, has been an underlying “fear of man” that dominates my thoughts and actions as a parent.  I am convicted that I have spent so long judging and being critical of everyone else’s parenting styles and abilities (without children of my own), that I want to cower at the thought that everyone else is probably doing the same to me as I begin this whole parenting endeavor.

I find myself defending my reasons for doing x, y, or z, to a seventeen year old, the man on the street, or the cashier at Target who could care less.  I realize I am employing a certain method because that’s what so-and-so said I should do and even though I think I might hate it, darn it, I have to do it! What would they think of me if I didn’t?! I recognize pride rising in my heart when people ask how things are going and I am able to give a good report, but feel ashamed if my baby isn’t perfect.

If the last eleven weeks has shown me anything, it is that parenthood is astronomically harder than I could have ever imagined. I keep thinking I should be able to “program” my little guy to do exactly as I want.  But as Stephen gently reminded me this last week, Jeshuah is a human being.  I can try to conform him to my little mold, but ultimately he will do what he will do.  I can desire for his naps and nights to be predictable, and if I do just so, he should respond in the same way every time, right? No.  Because he’s a little person! With needs and desires and feelings and a will.  And sometimes perhaps he might cry just because he wants to! (How many times have I done that?!)

For some reason all the variables of taking care of a little person are throwing me for a serious loop.  I love order and predictability.  That has been wrenched from me, and I am still smarting from it.  And it seems like the more I try to establish some semblance of order and predictability in our lives, the more stressed I become! I’m not even sure what I’m supposed to be doing right now, but what I do know is that I don’t want to do what I do because someone else thinks I should, or someone might think ill of me if I do otherwise.  I pray that the Lord will squash my fear of man and that I will be able to mother only before God, and that it will be pleasing to Him and Him alone.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom-GRANDMA! on March 8, 2010 at 2:44 am

    Like Mother, like daughter. 😦 I struggle with fear of man as well. Here is one of the verses I have been thinking on lately: “Don’t be afraid of what scares them, don’t be terrified. You must recognize the authority of the Lord who commands armies. HE is the One you must respect; HE is the One you must fear. HE will become a Sanctuary.” (Is 8:12-14)

    Let Him be your Sanctuary, your hiding place. He loves you!

    “Faith is tested by what we do with fear, not whether or not we have it.” (Beth Moore)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

