Towards Healthier Living

I have long been convicted about the way we eat in this household. I am convinced that the reason we are seeing such a rise in all sorts of diseases like cancer, diabetes, arthritis, etc. is because of our poor eating habits as a nation. Everything is processed, sprayed with pesticides, full of preservatives and all sorts of other chemicals. Many of these things have been linked with the aforementioned diseases, but it would take quite a bit of work on our part to revolutionize the way we eat. That junk is in everything on the grocery shelves!

Stephen and I have struggled with our health quite a bit over the last few years. I, especially, have always been sick. In highschool I was teased relentlessly because I was always either coming down with a cold, getting over one, unable to do something because of arthritis, or running to the bathroom with the stomach flu. I have been exhausted literally my whole life and struggled with depression off an on. And I love to eat all sorts of junk food.

I say, it is time for a change. I want to be healthy and have energy to do the work the Lord has called me to, and I want my family to be able to do that as well. As the wife, I am responsible for my home, and I want to serve my husband and children by taking care of their health.

I happen to love a challenge. And I happen to have an insatiable appetite for learning. And I also love to cook. So my latest challenge to myself: revolutionizing the way my family eats and lives while continuing to find ways to save money and live more frugally. This is possible, I am finding, because whole foods are more filling and satisfying, so you eat less and snack less. Also, by making from scratch many things I used to buy in packages, I can save money.

My first step in this process is replacing white flour and sugar with whole wheat flour and healthy sugar substitutes such as rapadura, sucanat, and stevia. I am also inheriting a grain mill from my wonderful and generous mom so I can finally grind my own flour!

I am doing this one step at a time so as not to overwhelm myself. I am finding much of my inspiration from a wonderful website called passionatehomemaking.com.

Last night, after a trip to Whole Foods, Stephen made a delicious recipe using a substitute: terriyaki chicken wings,his favorite. He substituted sucanat for the brown sugar. The result? Delicious and nutritious:-) Stephen actually added a little extra soy sauce and ginger, and I was so blown away by how extraordinary they tasted, I kept going on about them all evening.

Last weekend, we had our great friends the Segers over, and I made foccacia bread using my freshly ground whole wheat flour.  It was extremely delicious! The thing about whole wheat flour is that it only stays fresh for 72 hours at room temperature.  After that, it goes rancid, which is why store bought whole wheat flour has a very strong, almost bitter taste.  But with fresh milled flour (that can be stored in the freezer indefinitely), you can use only whole wheat flour in any recipe (including cookies) and the result is a healthy, filing, delicious food.

You can be sure I will continue to update you on my progress!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom--GRANDMA! on April 16, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Hey! How is the whole foods experiment going with packing? I pray you are able to do this a bit at a time, as you say, and not overwhelm yourself!

    Love you and admire you!

    Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

