Oh, For the Love of Raspberries!

I. Love. Raspberries.

I could eat them all day long.  One of the major things that sold me on our home was the fact that there was a large patch of raspberries in the backyard. What I didn’t know was that there were also wild black raspberries in the front of our home! I ate all the black raspberries as soon as I picked them, but I hope to be more fruitful with the red raspbarries, which are ripening in abundance.

However, since moving to our quaint little home on the edge of a heavily wooded ravine, I have developed a rather serious insectophobia.  I have never minded bugs much before, but there is something about finding horrible, pincer-ended earwigs in your clean laundry, spiders crawling up your windows, and ants running across your kitchen floor that causes a person to begin not trusting the little invaders so much. Or maybe it’s just me.

When I began picking the black raspberries, I found the bushes covered in daddy-long leg spiders and mating green beetles. Yuck.  How had I never noticed this before? Now it is ALL I can think about as I’m up to my elbows in raspberry bushes, feeling creepy-crawlies all over me.

Today I knew I had to get the beautiful red raspberries that were literally dripping off the branches in our back yard.  I had been avoiding it because of my dread of encountering the horrid spiders, earwigs and beetles I knew infested the plants.  But I had to collect those juicy berries for the freezer jam I intend to put up.

So, in the heat of the day, I grabbed  a bowl and headed out back.  I pushed back branches and stepped on underbrush that hindered my path to the delicious red bulbs hiding under leaves and thorns.  I was instantly bombarded with mosquitos.  Mosquitos usually hate me.  I am the one when, on camping trips, everyone counts 100+ bites and I have 4. Literally.  But something in my blood attracted them to me in hoards today. Perhaps it was the sweat glistening on my arms. Why I picked that hour of the day, I don’t know, other than the baby was sleeping and I was motivated.

I began to shake as I reached deeper into the shrubs to grab my prize, swatting mosquitos, beetles, and desperately trying to avoid the spiders. I tried not to think of what might be crawling up my leg or landing on my head and kept my eye on the prize.

And here is what I gathered. Tomorrow there will be another couple dozen ripe and I will have to do it all over again.  I am still trembling. But I did it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Bugs. *shudder*

    The question is, how big are those bowls of raspberries?

    😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on July 8, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Hopefully it will get easier? Practice makes perfect? “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength” — even bugs?

    It will be worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

