Secret, Secret, I’ve Got a Secret

I have been walking on clouds lately. Figuratively, of course.  I feel like I know a sweet secret that fills me with joy, causes my heart to sing, causes trials to fade into the background, and gives me a whole new perspective on life.  What is that secret, you may ask? Simply this: The Gospel. 

Although I have been a Christian since I was five years old, I am just now truly understanding the gospel in my day-to-day life. And it is beautiful. Glorious. Unfathomable!  For the last couple of years, I have been hearing things like “Preach the gospel to yourself every day” and when faced with a struggle, “What does the gospel have to say about that?”  I was confused.  How did the gospel speak into those situations? I mean, I have to admit, when I am in a sermon or conference and they get to the Gospel presentation of “We are all sinners, Christ died for our sins, repent and believe,” I have tended to tune it out and think about my shopping list. “Oh yeah, this part isn’t for me. I am already saved,” is my rationalization.  So when I hear the significance of the gospel in moment-by-moment living, I have to say I tend to be confused. Isn’t the gospel a truth that I accepted at one point in my life and now I move on to other things pertaining to sanctification?

Stephen preached a dynamite sermon this last Sunday. And I do not say that because I am his biased wife. If anything, I am biased against him.  I am his biggest critic, in both positive and negative ways! When he gets behind that pulpit, I tremble for him (as does he!) as He brings God’s Word to his flock–he’d better have it right, because all these people are listening to him! So for me to say his messages were out-of-this world is big for me. Huge, in fact.

Just what was this phenomenal sermon? A new understanding of the end times and Revelation? Divine enlightenment on how to stop sinning? No. In fact, as we walked along the Mississipi last night, we both concluded that his sermon was absolutely nothing new. He didn’t say anything revelatory or original.  He simply preached the centrality of the Gospel in our sanctification. His entire message was undergirded with that worldview, the understanding that Christ’s sacrifice on behalf of our sins was not a one time decision for us, but it has ramifications for every moment of every day in our lives. The applications are infinite! It is not our goodness that will get us into heaven, it was Christ’s righteousness. When we accepted that with salvation, we must continue to live in that. Apart from the gospel in our lives, all we are doing is continuing to live in our own strength to be good.

I am still learning how to do this. It doesn’t come naturally for any of us! That is why I am reading books like The Gospel Primer, Living the Cross Centered Life, and Gospel Powered Parenting, to learn how to implement what Christ did for us and is doing for us every moment of every day.

I get giddy about the gospel. I didn’t used to.  When I try to talk to many Christians about it, they give me a blank look–the look I used to give Stephen when he would try to talk to me about it! The Lord has opened my eyes to see the Gospel working in my life where I didn’t used to see it. That’s the secret I feel I have that I wish I could share with others.  I can talk about it and be excited about it and pray that people will understand my enthusiasm for it. I don’t want it to be a secret, I want the world to know my joy! And I can’t wait to keep growing in grace and a deeper understanding of the Gospel to infinity–and beyond!

4 responses to this post.

  1. So encouraging to hear this!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Crystal on August 6, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    walking on the clouds…….with you 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love you so much Baby! And it brings me so much joy to see the power of the gospel at work in your life. I respect you and love you. And i thank God to be married to you! Your blessed Husband!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mom on August 16, 2010 at 3:20 am

    I remember when I began to understand this too, and the clouds I was walking on at the time. So glad you are learning these truths at a much younger age than I did. Thanks for the reminder, because I need to be constantly turned back to God’s grace, the Cross, and His love for me, and His life lived in me–moment by moment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

