Year One in Review: Cloth Diapers

I have never once regretted my decision to use cloth diapers. After the first two weeks of Jeshuah’s life and just getting adjusted to being a mom, I made the transition from the disposables they sent home from the hospital to the stack of neatly folded prefolds at our changing station. Within a couple of days I had become accustomed to the rhythm and routine of washing and replacing the diapers so that I always had a clean drawer full. It became second nature within days.

I love knowing I am not throwing money in the trash can by using disposables. I love knowing I am not contributing to a landfill. I love knowing my baby doesn’t have bleach and chemicals all over his soft skin. I love the cute, colorful diaper covers and even the slight added bulk to his little bottom!

Before last month, I could count on one hand how many times Jeshuah had had diaper rash, and they usually stemmed from being on-the-go and having to use disposable wipes which ended up irritating his skin. However, last month, I started using tea tree oil in his cloth wipes solution. It soon became apparent that the poor little Buddy was VERY allergic to tea tree oil as his poor bottom broke out into a bright red, oozing, bleeding sore:-( I tried to use every diaper rash solution to no avail. (He was also on a “potty pause” (see EC) so he was often peeing in his diaper and being wet, adding to the problem.)

I finally realized he was allergic to the tea tree oil and a friend recommended that in times like these, the dry-ability of some good, natural disposables would be the best thing to solve this problem. So off to Target I went and dished out $20 for 66 diapers. I literally felt sick. I also praised God that I am not shelling out cash on a monthly basis for diapers–what a money saver! But back to the diaper rash. Within a week of using the disposables and not using tea tree oil, his little bottom was on the mend. Thankful for that invention, and thankful I don’t use them regularly:-) However, I can no longer use his cloth diapers at nighttime, as the extended contact with moisture gives him a rash.  I’m not sure if there is some residual bacteria in them or if it’s just being in wet for 14 hours that does it.

Remember, the average American will spend at least $2000 on disposable diapers from birth to potty training. Stocking our cloth diapers cost significantly less than $1000. And I have them all organized in bins downstairs according to size to be used for our next little one(s), whenever that blessing may find us!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Becca on January 17, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Have you tried using a fleece liner at night? It pulls the wetness away from the skin so that his bottom feels dry. Sounds like you’ve had a great first year with cloth!

    Reply

  2. Yay for making it a year! And thanks for the inspiration for a CD post. Both my girls have been CD since they were infants & I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Reply

  3. My 13 month old daughter is super sensitive to moisture so we use a disposable diaper at night time and cloth all day. Seems to work for us.

    Reply

  4. I would recommend investing in a few BumGenius’s for the overnight. They wick away the moisture beautifully. My 19 month old sleeps for 12-13 hours straight with no problems. I use the regular BumGenius insert, plus a pre-fold stuffed in the pocket and it works great.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Adina on January 17, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    I second the fleece liners. I bought a yard at a fabric store and cut them into diaper sized strips. I just lay them right over the prefold every time I diaper my son and we rarely have rashes (he used to get them pretty frequently from the wetness of the cotton). Also, they clean much easier than the cotton prefolds, so I get far fewer poop stains with the fleece protecting the diaper.

    Reply

  6. Have you looked at the stay-dry options for an overnight diaper? I love the suedecloth on a bumGenius pocket, it really does keep my little guy dry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

