Super Baby Food

This book has been recommended to me numerous times, and I finally purchased it a few months ago.  However, when I received it in the mail, I was so intimidated by its encyclopedic size, small print, and poor quality, ancient, black-and-white photos (I admit, I am very influenced by aesthetics!), that I put it in the bottom of a basket and forgot about it.

Until last week.

Since realizing the possibility of Jeshuah developing autism, I have been reading and researching ravenously.  It’s amazing the things you take for granted until oh, that might be happening to my child! And then suddenly every nap time and spare evening minute are filled with gaining as much knowledge on the topic as possible. I have always been a bit of a detective and my motto is Question Everything, and all of this has caused me to question a whoooooole lot of things I often just assumed as truth up until this point. More on that in my next post, though.

The first thing I did was head to our local (and very wonderfully stocked!) library and checked out Healing the New Childhood Epidemics: Autism, ADHD, Asthma, and Allergies by Dr. Kenneth Bock. That book deserves a whole post in itself, but all I will say for now is. READ. IT.  The next book on my list is Gut and Psychology Syndrome (Creepy name, I know, but it’s about how what we eat affects how we think).  And then For Our Kids’ Sake: How to Protect Your Child Against Pesticides in Food by Anne Witte Garland.

While Super Baby Food intimidated me with its size at first, I finally sat down and thumbed through it this week and it was fantastic! I learned a lot, but most of all, I was encouraged about how to feed my baby (and my family) healthy.  The main ingredient in the diet is Super Baby Porridge. When I pulled my Earth’s Best brown rice baby cereal off the shelf, I found that the main ingredient is simply whole wheat flour.  I was shocked. I thought, “What am I paying for this? I grind my own whole wheat flour every day, and it doesn’t even have that tric…whatever that preservative ingredient is in this stuff.”  So I tried my hand at making Super Baby Porridge the other day.  On the third try, I was succesful.  (I have never been able to cook grains, and I don’t know why!).  I ground 1/3 C whole wheat flour and 2 TBS black eyed peas, then boiled them in two cups of water. This forms a complete protein and a very nutritious base for a baby’s meal! I then add to it a pureed fruit, veggie, some yogurt, probiotic, ground flax seeds, and almond milk and voila! Jeshuah loved it, and it was extremely easy (and cheap!) to make!

So I am inspired to continue finding ways to make our own healthy baby meals around here.  But I must away–I am off to the farm to pick up a couple gallons of raw milk to make yogurt, cheese, and this time I think I will try my hand at butter!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angie on March 6, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    What if your baby won’t eat pureed things???? Does it move along with you as the baby grows???

    Reply

    • Posted by ashleynicolewillcox on March 7, 2011 at 1:32 am

      Yes! It is infants-3, and Jeshuah wouldn’t eat pureed food either–he started with table food! Obviously the porridge is a puree, but if he won’t eat that, it has other healthy advice and maybe eventually he will do that texture. Jeshuah started eating some pureed stuff when he first tasted yogurt–yum!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Kristina on March 8, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Hi Ashley Nicole. I’m sure you don’t remember me, but my husband and I visited Sovereign Grace church for a while when your were pregnant (we had a newborn, Joshua, at the time). I’ve found your blog through Misha’s and was intrigued by this post. It sounds like you’re really working to provide a healthy diet for your family. I would love it if you could share more ideas. For example, what might a weekly menu look like for your family? And do you have any tips for first, easy steps to improve your family’s eating habits. Thanks so much- and Jeshuah is adorable, by the way! 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by ashleynicolewillcox on March 11, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      Hi Kristina! I do remember you! Thanks for the idea–I will be posting some nutritional ideas soon! My favorite resource has been passionatehomemaking.com in the meantime:-)

      Reply

  3. Posted by Cilicia on March 10, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Wow!!! what farm do you go to to get fresh milk?!!? (I live in EM as well!) you make your own cheese & yogurt!!? I have never known someone that did this! how cool!! I would LOVE to try that!! I’m impressed by your baby food making as well! 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by ashleynicolewillcox on March 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm

      We go out to a farm in Port Byron, but he doesn’t give much milk because he sells to Swiss Valley and they look down on it. I have also gotten milk from a farm our near Fulton, but that’s quite a trek. You can make yogurt out of storebought milk, though! I will try to post on that soon. Thanks!

      Reply

  4. […] attempts to informedly feed our family healthier, I (finally) read Super Baby Food. (Read my review here). Since Jeshuah eats almost twice as much as I do, he has been really stretching our food budget […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

