God is Good. God is Good. God is Good.

I have been repeating that to my heart this last week. This whole pregnancy, really. I have been very aware of God’s sovereignty throughout and felt a strong assurance of His goodness no matter what happened.  What a gift of grace, what a great blessing as my trembling heart prepared itself for loss.

Thursday’s doctor appointment and my beta count only confirmed what I already knew had happened that morning.  The little life that God entrusted to me for a few short weeks was no longer mine to have and hold. In his sovereignty and, yes, his eternal goodness, he saw fit to take the tiny baby that he had given in the first place. Do I understand this? No. Do I like this? No.  But I choose to accept it and walk in the light of God’s goodness.

Music ministers to my heart in a way nothing else can. It is a balm to my soul. It is a comfort to my heart. It is a magnificent way to redirect my thoughts to truth and the gospel.  Strains of a few of my favorite songs keep running through my head these last few days. Take a moment and meditate on these sweet truths with me and may they minister grace to your soul as they have mine!

“You give and take away, but my heart will choose to say Lord blessed be your name.” (Matt Redman, Blessed Be Your Name, Job 1:21)

“We are pressed–but not crushed, persecuted–not abandoned, struck down–but not destroyed. We are blessed beyond the curse, for his promise will endure that his joy’s going to be my strength. Though the sorrow may last for the night, his joy comes with the morning.” (Trading My Sorrows, 2 Cortinthians 4:8)

“O death where is your sting? O hell where is your victory? O church, come stand in the light, the glory of God has defeated the night, our God is not dead, he’s alive, he’s alive!” (Matt Maher, Christ Is Risen, 1 Corinthians 15:55)

And Steven Curtis Chapman’s wonderful “Much of You, Jesus.”  That one, well, you just have to listen to!

I want to make much of You, Jesus
I want to make much of Your love
I want to live today to give You the praise
That You alone are so worthy of
I want to make much of Your mercy
I want to make much of Your cross
I give You my life
Take it and let it be used
To make much of You.

This is Your love, oh God
Not to make much of me
But to send Your own son
So that we could make much of You

For all eternity.”

God is good. God is good. God is good.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle Farrell on March 28, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    AN-
    I am so sorry to hear of this news. Your family is in our prayers.
    Love you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by crystal V on March 28, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    Praying for you-may He comfort you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Adriel on March 28, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    I’m so sorry, but HE is good! Will be praying for you guys!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Stephanie on March 28, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    My heart aches for you, but I rejoice in knowing that you are trusting God and praising Him through all of this. “Blessed by Your Name” still brings tears to my eyes, as it reminds me of how good God was to us in the midst of our loss. Praying for you.

    Reply

  5. I’m so sorry, Ashley-Nicole. God IS good, but loss is still hard.

    Reply

  6. […] later, we were thrilled.  But the Lord had other plans for that little one’s life, and we miscarried eight weeks into the pregnancy.  She was our Elealeh–”The LORD reigns […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

