“He Blesses Your Children Within You”

Psalm 147:13-14 For he strengthens the bars of your gates; he blesses your children within you. He makes peace in your borders; he fills you with the finest of the wheat.”

I have been eagerly awaiting this day, to announce our big news–we are expecting again!  This time, unlike both other pregnancies, we wanted to wait until that “magical” twelve week marker.  Not because we placed our hope in that statistic, but because we thought we would toss things up a little this time and keep our little secret for as long as we could without bursting.  And because we still sense a bit of social disapproval announcing a pregnancy before the twelfth week.

But God, in his infinite wisdom, sovereignty, and yes, sense of humor, wanted to really bring home the truth that there is, indeed, no magical date where you are “out of the woods” and can breathe a sigh of relief that you will definitely carry this baby to term–just in case we really were placing our hope in that in the back of our minds!

This pregnancy has been rocked with ups and downs the whole way through.  From a subchorionic hemmhorage, to bleeding, to more bleeding and finally a trip to the hospital this last weekend, it has been an emotional roller coaster.  But in every blood test, sonogram, and that sweet whooshing of the baby’s heartbeat, everything continues to look healthy.  It’s just that troublesome bleeding that comes and goes that gives the doctors concern.

Before we conceived this little life, in fact, while I was still pregnant with the little one we lost, it was as if the Lord whispered to my heart the name of our next child.  The name that He has chosen for this soul means “The Lord has heard our prayers.”  And this little one’s life has been bathed in unbelievable amounts of prayer!

Throughout these last 12 weeks, the Lord has given us an overwhelming sense of peace and confidence in his goodness. While seeing our baby’s lifeblood pool on the floor, my heart knew deep fear.  When I heard the doctors say my pregnancy was threatened, a stab of panic made its way into my soul.  When my midwife labeled my pregnancy as “tentative,” a wave of grief washed over me. But nearly as quickly as these feelings came, they were replaced by a deep, enduring sense of peace.  Our hearts are at rest in his sovereignty, and we are so grateful for his grace to us as we take this pregnancy day by day.  No matter the outcome, we rejoice in every day, every moment, that we get to know this little life growing inside of me. We are so thankful for this gift, no matter how short or long the life may be.

And we really believe Psalm 147, that he is blessing this child within me.  We really believe that Lord has heard our prayers, and that he will answer them with yes, he will spare the life of this baby, and yes, we will hold him or her in our arms.

“My soul waits in silence for God only; from Him is my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken…My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is in Him.”  Psalm 62:1, 5

“In Christ alone, my hope is found, He is my light, my strength, my song.” (In Christ Alone, Stuart Townend, Keith Getty)

“On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand, all other ground is sinking sand.” (Charles Wesley)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by crystal V on July 15, 2011 at 5:02 am

    Definitely praying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t believe I am the first one to comment it seems…see you in a few hours!

    Reply

  2. […] months to the day of my miscarriage, we learned we were expecting again.  We were filled with joy at God’s goodness and knew in our hearts that this was indeed our […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

