Bed Rest, a Forced Gift

On Tuesday, I went into pre-term labor at 33 weeks.  While this wasn’t really a surprise to me because we had been prepared for the possibility with all the other complications I have had this pregnancy, it was still a bit of a shock. They kept me in the hospital overnight and gave me something to relax the contractions.  I was sent home with a prescription to spend the next 3-4 weeks in bed with only bathroom privileges.  While babies born between 34 and 36 weeks usually grow and develop normally, there is still the risk of respiratory issues, and there is usually at least a 7-10 day NICU stay.  My midwife (and I!) really want to avoid a NICU stay!! So I am taking her instructions very seriously.

Upon returning home, though, I realized there are periods throughout the day that I cannot even sit up straight without inducing so many contractions that I have to call my midwife and inform her.  At that rate, I knew I couldn’t take care of two-year old Jeshuah in the least bit.  My mom drove over from Cedar Rapids the next morning and cared for Jeshuah while Stephen went into work for a few hours.  She ran laundry, did some baking for me, and packed Jeshuah’s things to bring him back home with her for a few days, and possibly even an entire week.  We have never been apart from Jeshuah for more than a weekend, so I was not sure how I was going to handle such a length of time apart–or how he would do with it.  However, as quiet as the house is, and as strange as it is to walk past his bedroom at night and see the door wide open and the room empty, I am assured that this is by far the best thing for us at this time.  He loves his Nana and Poppa and their cows, tractors, and model airplanes, so I know he is well cared for.  And it is so hard for him to understand why I am nearby, but laying on the couch and unable to get up and play with him or meet his needs.

So, after wrestling through the negative emotions, I am accepting this time of peace and quiet as a gift from God to refresh my body and spirit before this new baby enters the world.  I am choosing to see it as a time to sit in God’s presence without distraction.  I am choosing to set my fingers to work (when I can sit up without contracting) making this little one a baby blanket, addressing Christmas cards, scrapbooking pictures, or catching up on correspondence.  Stephen and I are enjoying the solitude and talking about things we have had on hearts and minds for weeks or months that we have not had a chance to bring up yet.  We are celebrating our 6 year anniversary in a drawn-out, slowed manner, catching a movie today and going out to dinner briefly tomorrow night…as long as the contractions are at bay!  But if they are causing problems, I recline on the couch, and he sets up our new favorite game, Dominion, at the coffee table, and we play while I lie down.

This is yet another time in my life where things happen to throw a wrench in my “well laid plans,” but I know that God is good and wants me to learn and grow through all of this.  I am learning to accept this as God’s well laid plan, and receive it as a gift instead of resent the interruption.  I want to feel grateful to so many people who have stepped in to help us in our time of need and now wallow in false guilt and self pity.  I want to rest and take this time to attempt to calm my body physically until this little one has had a bit more time to grow and develop.  I want use this time to ask the Lord to teach me more about Him and His goodness. I want to take advantage of the quiet hours and ask Him to sanctify me.

3 responses to this post.

  1. You are a very brave and inspiring lady, and I am proud to call you my sister (and happy to call myself Jeshuah’s aunt!). Looking forward to spending time with the little buddy this weekend – he will be very loved and well-taken care of! I think we are all happy for the chance to each have him all to ourselves for awhile 😛 Soak in this time of rest!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Marcia Johnson on December 16, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Praying for you. God has a plan – and… it is perfect!! You are looking in the right direction as you strive to grow MORE in Him! Love you much!

    Reply

  3. Praying for a restful, successful bed rest and no NICU stay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

