2012 Monthly Goals for Chemical Elimination in Our Home

Becoming aware of how toxic our modern world is can be extremely frightening and overwhelming.  We can have the desire to implement change, but the very magnitude of the task is daunting.  It is helpful to not try and tackle everything at once, but to go slowly, taking baby steps as it were towards a less toxic, more chemical free lifestyle.

That is why I am excited to announce my 2012 monthly goals for detoxifying our home.  Naturally Simple Solutions will be doing a series over the next 12 months to equip you to eliminate chemicals from your home.   Ideally, I will have already worked out the kink with each category before I post them each month and will have some first-hand examples, recipes, pictures, sources, etc. to share.  My desire is to make the transition from chemical to natural as pain-free and simple as possible!  Here is a rough outline of each month’s feature, although it may be changed or rearranged as needed. You may note that the order does not seem to necessarily reflect a scale of more to less dangerous substances.  That is because I will have a newborn in January and will begin the year with chemicals we have already eliminated in our home, to make things more manageable for me:-)

January – Dishwashing Soap

February – Personal Care – Moisturizer, Make up, Skin care

March –  Personal Care – Deodorant

April – Household Cleaners

May – Pest/Weed Control, Personal Bug Repellent

June – Personal Care – Toothpaste, Mouthwash

July – Personal Care -Soap, Shaving Cream, Aftershave, Sun screen

August – Personal Care – Shampoo & Conditioner

September – Laundry Soap

October – Medicine Cabinet

November – Safe Drinking Water

December – Home/Personal Fragrances

Anyone have suggestions for things I am missing? I can easily combine some personal care items into one month, etc, but I am drawing a blank on other household chemicals I may be missing, so please offer suggestions!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I love this! I’ve been looking for ways to eliminate the toxins in our home! I will be following your blog closely! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nana on January 4, 2012 at 12:15 am

    I tried to detoxify once, or more precisely Sharon tried to detoxify me. Almost killed me. I like toxins. You live longer. Dad

    Reply

  3. […] I announced earlier, each month in 2012, I will post our family’s household chemical elimination goal for the month. […]

    Reply

  4. […] check out the schedule for 2012 Chemical Elimination, read here. February is Personal Care: Deodorant! Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

    Reply

  5. […] February’s Chemical Elimination, we are replacing toxic skin care with natural alternatives.  This is probably my absolute […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

