A (REAL) Peek at our Daily Routines

As Ellie cried hungrily in the swing, lunch boiled over on the stove, and Jeshuah smashed his broccoli all over his tray exclaiming that “No! No!” he did not want broccoli, I looked around my house and had to smile.

Earlier I posted A Peek at our Daily Routines.

Let me again stress…those are my goals.

However, here is how they actually play out on most days:-)

Morning Routine

5:30am–Ellie is fussing and needing attention, so I pull her into bed with us for extra snuggles and sleep in.
6:30am–Ellie is asleep–I scramble out of bed, hurriedly pour myself coffee, sit down with my Bible and attempt to pump amidst various children’s needs arising.
8:00am–Jump in the shower for a speedy scrub down. As soon as I do, Stephen pops his head in and says Eliana is awake and hungry.
8:30am–Breakfast. I feed Jeshuah while nursing Ellie and forget to eat breakfast myself. Oops. We also forgot to pray…and Daddy has already left for work before we could read our Bible Story!
9:00am–Ellie down for a nap and try to distract Jeshuah with his toys while I do dishes and start laundry, etc.  He ends up finding the permanent markers and drawing all over himself. We never get to our learning activity this morning. I guess we’ll save it for tomorrow!
11:30am–Lunch. I leave a disaster of dishes on in the kitchen while I put the kids down for nap.

Afternoon Routine
12:00am–Jeshuah goes to the bathroom and reads stories while I sit on the side of the tub and nurse Eliana. I then put both kids to bed and look around my messy house in exhaustion. Time for that Midday Pause before I whirl into action to get this mess cleaned up!

Dirty laundry that has not made it down the steps yet

Lunch?

Mounds of trash that need to be taken out

Crumbs

Laundry Piles


And that is what real life looks like in our household.  Sometimes I get discouraged reading other people’s blogs about household routines and schedules and assume they hold to them perfectly and that their household runs smoothly all the time.  But if this blog post is any indication of reality, I think most of us aim for routine and structure, but that doesn’t mean it always happens.

And praise God, there is grace for that! Don’t try to live up to anyone else’s expectations or standards or compare yourself to other wives and mothers.  Simply follow what God has for you each day and enjoy it!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lindsey Gamble on April 2, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks for your honesty, Ashley Nicole 🙂 Yes… this is how life is in a mom’s world! And I only have one little one right now!

    Reply

  2. Aaahhh! I feel much better! 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by Stephanie on April 2, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    Ashley-Nicole You have to relax and not stess. The first thing that is the most important thing to remember is WHO CARES IF the house is a mess, laudary is on the floor, lunch was a OPPS or that there are crumbs on the floor. Throw the laudary down the stairs…. out of sight for now! Lunch throw it away and go outside for a picnic. The Crumbs throw away or get a dog to hel with that issue. The Kids will love the fresh air… put the baby on her back to look at the sky, trees or whatever play with the little man. You want happy healthy kids NOT a CRAZY CLEAN house. Kids are messy. Kids are FUN. Kids are Dirty. Kids are Kids. Enjoy them …. when they are older you can worry about cleaning the house. A schedule is a great thing but you need to allow yourself time for the hiccups. When Charlie came around I thought that I was going to lose my mind and I did for the first month until I realized I wasn’t happy with the stress I caused myself. I had to rethink this whole thing …. baby had to eat and nap ok check. Jewell had to eat and do school (preschool 3 hrs a day) check. Mommy needed her DEVO, shower and coffee. You are doing great take time to enjoy it all the good and the hiccups. 🙂 Love you guys and if you need help tonight before bible study let me know.

    Reply

  4. Oh, this is so true – I love it! What a challenge/blessing/privilege it is to get to be a mom. You made me laugh when I read about you nursing a baby in the bathroom while the toddler goes potty – I remember doing this too and wondering if anyone else had! What fun. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I love honesty. 🙂 I think everyone can identify–goals are good but we also have to be able to take a deep breath and put one foot in front of the other when none of the goals are being met. That’s pretty much my daily struggle! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

