Counsel From the Cross – A Devotional, Introduction

I spent the first 20 years of my Christian life thinking that the gospel was something I had believed in when I was first saved, and now it was time to move on to “bigger and better” concepts.

But over the last couple of years, the Lord has used authors like Elyse Fitzpatrick, C. J. Mahaney, Ted and Paul Tripp, Milton Vincent and many others to open my eyes to the liberating truth that the gospel “ isn’t one class among many that you’ll attend during your life as a Christian–the gospel is the whole building that all the classes take place in! Rightly approached, all the topics you’ll study and focus on as a believer will be offered to you ‘within the walls’ of the glorious gospel.”  C. J. Mahaney, Living The Cross Centered Life.  

Knowing this fact, though, and implementing this truth have been harder than I thought.  To aid me in my pursuit of gospel-centered living, I have been reading some of the great authors who expound on this topic so well.

I recently began reading Elyse Fitzpatrick’s Counsel from the Cross and am so excited about it, I wanted to share some of its treasures with you in a blog series as I am reading through it.  As she puts it so well,

“Many Christians love Jesus and the gospel but just don’t know how his    incarnation, sinless life, substitutionary death, bodily resurrection, ascension, and reign ought to impact them in the ‘real world.'”

I am looking forward to posting some of the gems in this book to encourage us all in our desire to follow Christ!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Christie on April 24, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I LOVE this book! It is one I can benefit from over and over again. Glad you are enjoying it as well. Thanks for sharing it with others.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

