Day of Deliverance 2012

As October 1 approached again this year, I looked back on the 11 years since that first Day of Deliverance, as I have named this day.  Each year I have remembered God’s faithfulness.  Each year I have “raised my Ebenezar” as it were, and built up the altars of thankfulness for God’s redemption again and again, as the Israelites did after crossing the River Jordan.

Some years the anniversary of October 1 brings along with it the memory of the fear, darkness, and despair of that day as we did battle with the enemy of my soul. Though on that day I had been a believer for many years, I had given much ground to the enemy by living in continual sin and unrepentance.  I was held in a vice to strong, I did not believe there was hope to escape.  But in a demonstration of God’s power both terrifyingly awful and miraculously beautiful, He proved Himself the sovereign victor over all things, especially the Enemy and my own wicked sin.

Other years on this day, I remember the indescribable peace and joy that overwhelmed me as God delivered me, “freeing me from all my fears.”  Some years I wrestle with believing the truth that God is faithful as I find myself entrenched in the battle of darkness once again, and I struggle to believe that I will indeed “see God’s goodness in the land of the living.”  Other years I bask in the glow of God’s revealed goodness and faithfulness as I revel in the tangible gifts and continual victory He has given.

Two Scriptures speak to my heart this year.  Lamentations 3:18, 21, 25-26, 31 is one passage that resonates with me this October 1.  “So I say, ‘My endurance has perished; so has my hope from the Lord…But this I called to mind and therefore I have hope…The Lord is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him.  It is good that one should wait quietly for the Lord…For the Lord will not cast off forever.”  This has been a long season of waiting to see God’s goodness.  This has been a season of much discouragement and setbacks.  This has been a season of continuous crying out to God and wondering if my pleas are falling on deaf ears.

This year I am not in bondage as clearly and obviously as I was 11 years ago, but I still fight the burdens of this sinful, fleshly being every day.  Though I have been bought with a price, the precious price of Jesus’ blood, I dwell in my mortal, sinful body, that pulls me daily toward the bondage of sin once again.  I need God’s deliverance and victory today as fully as I did that day 11 years ago.  I need the power of the gospel in my life as completely as I did on October 1, 2001.  I need Christ’s redemptive power every second of every day. And He will be faithful. He will give it.

Psalm 126 is that other passage that gives words to my heart’s cry.  I could not describe that day, nor the days since, better than the Psalmist says it here!

“When the LORD restored the fortunes of Zion, we were like those who dream.  Then our mouth was filled with laughter; and our tongue with shouts of joy; then they said among the nations, ‘The LORD has done great things for them.’  The LORD has done great things for us; we are glad…Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy! He who goes out weeping, bearing the seed for sowing, shall come home with shouts of joy!”

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nana on October 2, 2012 at 2:03 am

    Amen! To God be glory. Then and now.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anna Jamieson on October 16, 2012 at 2:04 am

    Thanks for sharing this Ashley-Nicole! I am praising our God with you! I remember back when we were at Moody together and you shared some of this experience with me. Our God is indeed greater and stronger than the enemy of our souls! Praise Him! Praise Him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

