August Chemical Elimination – Shampoo and Conditioner

Better late than never, right? 🙂

In my quest to rid my home of chemicals, this has been, by far, the most difficult category. After six months of trying various replacements, I cannot say I have found anything I am satisfied with. However, since everyone’s body chemistry is different, I know some things will work for some people and other things for others. It is a process of trial and error. I will lay out some options so that you can knowledgeably try some various options.

Here are some key ingredients to look avoid when shopping for a good product: parabens, sulfates,  fragrance (parfum), derivatives of sulfur sulfate and ammonium, Propylene Glycol, chlorine.  Many shampoos and conditioners also contain plastics and waxes, so be on the lookout for that, too!

Check out my post on Naturally Simple Solutions: Hair Care, for some very economical, healthy options for hair care! I have known many people who have used these successfully, but for some reason they simply do not work on my hair.  I have noticed, however, that a 50/50 baking soda water solution, massaged into my hair and left for 5 minutes, then rinsed with apple cider vinegar, restores my hair to a smooth, soft balance after the buildup of shampoo and conditioner.

Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa line is supposed to be a good, natural, economical solution, and if you have a Trader Joe’s nearby, it is much cheaper than Amazon. I have heard both good and bad reviews on this.

All that being said, if you look in my shower right now, you will find Biolage:-)  I have simply struck out so far in my search for natural and healthy!  What about you? Have you found any good, natural solutions to hair care?

One response to this post.

  1. I have looked and looked for a solution on this one, too – and so far, the best I’ve found is the Everyday Coconut Super Hydrating Conditioner
    . (I think that’s my personal link) It doesn’t leave my hair as soft as all the regular stuff did, but it’s been the best of the natural products, so I’ve been giving it a shot. I don’t remember if it fits within all of your criteria, but my focus is primarily on parabens and sulfates, though I believe it’s only scent comes from the natural coconut. It’s about $10 for 32 oz, so I think that, for a natural option, it’s a pretty good price.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

